Conwell Middle Magnet Students Review The Nutcracker

8-Nutcracker-Gallery_Largest_816x450

Artists of Pennsylvania Ballet in George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker™,
choreography by George Balanchine © The George Balanchine Trust. | Photo: Alexander Iziliaev

When I went to see the ballet, I was very excited. When I walked in, I saw sights that were very unexpected. There were red carpets, chandeliers, and gold everywhere!! I was even greeted by a man in a clean, black suit that was very nice. The steps inside were also lined with red carpet.

As we walked to our seats, I paid attention to every detail inside the big building. When we walked through another room, there was a see-through curtain, and a giant crowd! There was also another big, beautiful chandelier. It had gold on it and was decorated by lights that looked like crystals.  From the way this theater looked, I knew I would love the performance.

We sat in the lower level. The lights dimmed and suddenly loud music played. Through the curtain, I saw a beautiful Christmas tree. It was decorated with lights that changed colors quickly, then slowed down. I was so excited to see the ballet that I couldn’t sit still!

One dancer came out, then two, then three, soon the whole stage was covered with people! They pretended to be a bunch of families in a house or school. A little girl with dolls came in. She looked like she had loved it since she was a little girl.

Loud, but graceful music played. Many other kids came to the party. They hugged each other, shook hands and started dancing with each other. They looked like real ballerinas. In another scene, the Nutcracker doll came to life. It was in a small bed that moved. The little girl followed it and grabbed on.

Then my favorite scene came. A boy that looked like a prince appeared. The background was a snowy forest. The two children danced and danced. It looked like the two kids fell in love. As they walked off stage, older dancers came in and danced on the tips of their toes. That looked really painful.

Finally, it was the last scene of the ballet. The ballerinas were still dancing. Another person came and danced gracefully across the stage, when something caught my eye. IT WAS SNOW!! (probably made from confetti) At the end of their dance, the little girl and the prince walked off. This was one of the best experiences of my life. I would love to see the rest of the ballet.

Kalen Davis

5th Grader

Conwell Middle Magnet School

_________________________________________________________________________________

On Friday, December 5, 2014, I went to see The Nutcracker Dress Rehearsal at the Academy of Music. When I entered, I saw a giant chandelier. It was beautiful. I was excited about having the chance to see The Nutcracker and we had lower level seats!!

During the performance, I noticed how detailed the dancers’ costumes were. I enjoyed the scene when the mice-men came out and I took notice when a director’s voice entered the room and made corrections to the dancers. I believe she made corrections so they could that could be even MORE perfect for the general public. I hope to see the rest of the ballet, because what I saw was beautiful.

Jasmine Donahue

6th Grader

Conwell Middle Magnet School

_________________________________________________________________________________

On December 5, 2014, the Delphi Writing Club and the PA Ballet went to see the first of The Nutcracker. I loved it. I’d give it five stars! It was just a dress rehearsal, but it was phenomenal. I hope to see more of it. The costumes were great. The music was soft but got louder depending on the scene. The backdrop was interesting and made the scenes seem more real.

I loved all of the dancers, but there was one that stood out to me. The Swans. Their live performance was awesome. The choreographer did a very good job! Maybe one day I can be in the PA Ballet.

Alicia Saunders

6th Grader

Conwell Middle Magnet School

Posted 14th January 2015 by PA Ballet

 

Leave a Reply

